Schoolgirls and culture

March 2, 2007 at 10:52 am (Games)

Lategaming wrote

The image just above it, with the schoolgirls with the swords doesn’t inspire me at all. It features more of the things in Japanese culture that we whitebread westerners find odd or disturbing. Okay, the things I find disturbing.

Both Japanese, American and European cultures sexualise schoolgirls. I don’t like that fact. It really sucks. But I was a schoolgirl, and so was most Irish women. I went to a convent school. I wore a uniform, so did my friends. Some of our teachers were nuns. So despite that schoolgirls are sexualised, we should still get to play games based on our younger selves. We shouldn’t loose that just because people are bastards.

And more importantly schoolgirls themselves, should get to play themselves. How else is the hobby going to spread? Different games should attract different people.

4 Comments

  1. tekanji said,

    Both Japanese, American and European cultures sexualise schoolgirls.

    You’ll get no argument from me on that count, although truth be told the cover you chose wasn’t even sexualized by Japanese standards. (Which is not to say that calling it sexualized is wrong, but rather that it doesn’t appear to have been the intent of the artist.)

    Honestly, I’d have to read up on it, but I wouldn’t be surprised if the target audience for that game was high school girls.

  2. mary gilmartin said,

    I hope so. 🙂 I think that would be cool for them.

  3. Jade Reporting » Blog Archive » April 12 said,

    […] Schoolgirls and culture […]

  4. Jade Reporting » April 12 said,

    […] Schoolgirls and culture […]

Leave a comment