Response to if jesus had tits would you believe in god

March 1, 2007 at 1:44 pm (Articles)

Response to lategaming

There is no reason I have to put up with shit as a gamer. So I can say its shit if I want.

If you write male focused characters and worlds with sexism. I can run worlds with sexism to males and female focused characters.

If all the rpg designers get to run around putting shit my way, I can put shit their way or I can ignore it and drop sexism totally.

As for jesus, I’m not christian, some of my deities are female. Your loss if you can’t take it. 

Blah. I get to have my opinions same as everyone else.

Update:

Since what I was saying obviously is not getting across either. It does matter whether the main character is male or female. It matter with how much you can connect with the character.

It matters what words you use. It matters if you set it in a sexist era. It matters if you use art that shows women not as active or cool as the men. Character class pictures matter. Character class names matter. Because everything that shows women as not as important, says to a women we do not want you here. It lets gm go ‘it fits with the time so you have to put up with it’, it lets gms say ‘it didn’t happen in the time so you cant play that class’.  

Every women player and gm in Ireland I have talked to has played in a game with a sexist element and some have some real horror stories. So no, I am not surprised the games are not selling as well to women. No I am not surprised there isn’t as many women players and gms. The ones who are here have taken a lot of hassel and rubbish like this and kept on going.

Have you ever played in a game where your gender limited you stats-wise or social-status wise? I have. So has every other longer term woman player. 

So I get to have the opinion I find it crap. I dont have to like it. If I want to I wont buy it. You can if you want, I won’t care.  But I think good games give all players a good experience, after accounting for taste, and being treated with respect doesnt count as taste.

Update.

I thought of one other thing. Sometimes I read something because its good, despite whatever rubbish it throws at me. That doesnt mean I want that rubbish. It would be still better without it.

1 Comment

  1. Jade Reporting » April 12 said,

    […] Re Blogfight: Sexism in Roleplaying Games? Response to if jesus had tits would you believe in god […]

Leave a Reply

